Get Your Free Brain Book Here!

brain_factsThe Society for Neuroscience offers a selection of free content on its website, and among the offerings, Brain Facts: A Primer on the Brain and Nervous System  is mighty useful.  It’s a 74-page introduction to a variety of brain topics, designed for teachers for use in classrooms and for lay people who want to get a handle on their noggins. You can download it for free right here.

Here’s a rundown of the contents with links to each section:

The Neuron: Neurotransmitters and Neuromodulators | Second Messengers

Brain Development: Birth of Neurons and Brain Wiring | Paring Back | Critical Periods

Sensation and Perception: Vision | Hearing | Taste and Smell | Touch and Pain

Learning, Memory, and Language: Learning and Memory | Language

Movement

Sleep: Brain Activity During Sleep | Sleep Disorders | How is Sleep Regulated?

Stress: The Immediate Response | Chronic Stress

Aging: Aging Neuons | Intellectual Capacity

Neural Disorders: Advances and Challenges: Addiction | Alzheimer’s Disease | Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis | Anxiety Disorders | Attention Deficity Hyperactivity Disorder | Autism | Bipolar Disorder | Brain Tumors | Down Syndrome | Dyslexia | Huntington’s Disease | Major Depression | Multiple Sclerosis | Neurological AIDS | Neurological Trauma | Pain | Parkinson’s Disease | Schizophrenia | Seizures and Epilepsy | Stroke | Tourette Syndrome

New Diagnostic Methods: Imaging Techniques | Gene Diagnosis

Potential Therapies: New Drugs | Trophic Factors | Engineered Antibodies | Small Molecules and RNAs | Cell and Gene Therapy

Neuroethics

You can also download a free 10-page publication called Neuroscience Core Concepts right here.

2009baw_logoBy the way, March 16-22, if you didn’t already know, is Brain Awareness Week.  Check out the Society for Neuroscience website for more information.

9 Comments

Filed under About Neuroscience

9 responses to “Get Your Free Brain Book Here!

  1. Hello!Thankyou for your time and please thankyou for the free book.But if I can have is? The information on finding free help on getting the Brain/Wiring for memory.On which I need.Not only for the help I need for the work and more for myself.hankyou very kindly and have a Happy Thanksgiving and all!

  2. P.S.Please here is my address.510 W Fullerton Pkwy#502 Chicago,IL 60614 for th book and the information on what I need.Thankyou again!

  3. Thankyou!Again for your time.Here are the problem’s.The stress at most.The learning not much of the problem.Focus is fine and the memory is not bad,but at times there is.Reading is not always but when it comes to the well read books like,reading a full one I can not.Writing not always but to some change there is(handwriting)and there is a strange twich?Maybe do the stress.This takes place when I am awake or when I am a sleep.My body jumps and then it is mild jump or to what.Thankyou fo your time on reading this message.Hope yo understand all this,try to contact me perhaps through mail busy with work and otherwise.Thanks

  4. Thankyou!Again for your time.Here are the problem’s.The stress at most.The learning not much of the problem.Focus is fine and the memory is not bad,but at times there is.Reading is not always but when it comes to the well read books like,reading a full one I can not.Writing not always but to some change there is(handwriting)and there is a strange twich?Maybe do the stress.This takes place when I am awake or when I am a sleep.My body jumps and then it is mild jump or to what.Thankyou for your time on reading this message.Hope you understand all this,try to contact me perhaps through mail busy with work and otherwise.Thanks

  5. Hello!Thankyou for your time,again.I would like the Free Book offer.But I have not gotten.Only because I feel I made a mistake.By not puting the Free Subscribtion right.SorryThankyou and have A Happy Thanksgiving and to all who helps not only me for helping everyone who needs the help.

  6. Hi!I have gotten your mesage for the free book.It will help me with my problems.Hopefully.Thankyou again.Looking forward to the book and I will let you know how I like it.Have a good one.

  7. Hello!Happy New Year.Sorry I have not receive your free book at all.Hopefully I will hear from you soon.

  8. ACQUAH AKWANDOH JAMES

    Please can i get i hard copy right from the source of the book

  9. Never receive the frist one.But hope to enjoy this one and the last as well the rest.

Leave a Reply

